TOP

Useful Information

Location

The Korean Peninsula extends about 1,000 km from the Asian continent into the Pacific Ocean with more than 3,000 islands dotting the coastline. Mountains cover almost 70 percent of the land mass, making the country one of the most mountainous regions in the world and offering abundant forest resources. Administratively, Korea consists of nine provinces with 77 small cities and 88 counties.

Weather during the IASGO 2016

Korea has four seasons, with a wet monsoon/summer season in the middle of the year, and a cold winter from November to March. The island of Jeju off the southern coast is the warmest and wettest place in the country. The ideal time to visit Korea is during the autumn months (September-November). During this time, the country experiences warm, sunny weather, skies that are cobalt blue and spectacular foliage that is perhaps the biggest draw.

Language

Hangeul (한글), Korea’s official alphabet, was first invented by King Sejong during the Joseon Dynasty. Originally called Hunminjeongeum (훈민정음), the language was conceived in 1443, and further promulgated by the King in 1446. At the time of its inception, the language consisted of 17 consonants and 11 vowels however, since then, 3 of the originally established consonants and 1 vowel have fallen into disuse bringing the total number of characters to 24. Syllables are formed by the selective combination of vowels and consonants to create words.

Time Difference

When Indicating Korea Time: Present Time (GMT+9) / No daylight savings time

City Time
Seoul, Tokyo (Korea Time) 1:00 4:00 7:00 10:00 13:00 16:00 19:00 22:00
Taipei, Manila, Hong Kong,
Kuala Lumpur, Singapore
24:00 3:00 6:00 9:00 12:00 15:00 18:00 21:00
Bangkok, Jakarta 23:00 2:00 5:00 8:00 11:00 14:00 17:00 20:00
New Delhi, Kolkata 21:30 0:30 3:30 6:30 09:30 12:30 15:30 18:30
Teheran 20:30 23:30 2:30 5:30 8:30 11:30 14:30 17:30
Hamburg, Rome, Paris, Amsterdam 18:00 21:00 00:00 3:00 6:00 9:00 12:00 15:00
London, Madrid 17:00 20:00 23:00 2:00 5:00 8:00 11:00 14:00
Rio de Janeiro, S`ao Paulo 13:00 16:00 19:00 22:00 1:00 4:00 7:00 10:00
New York, Montreal, Bogota, Toronto 12:00 15:00 18:00 21:00 24:00 3:00 6:00 9:00
Chicago, Houston, Bogota 11:00 14:00 17:00 20:00 23:00 2:00 5:00 8:00
Vancouver, Seattle, San Francisco,
Los Angeles
9:00 12:00 15:00 18:00 21:00 24:00 3:00 6:00
Sydney, Melbourne 2:00 5:00 8:00 11:00 14:00 17:00 20:00 23:00

Business Hours

Government office hours are usually from 9:00 to 18:00 on weekdays. Banks are open from 9:00 to 16:00 on weekdays. Most stores are open every day from 10:30 to 20:00, including Sundays.

Currency & Exchange

Old Bills
  • old man won image
    10,000 won (man won)
  • old ocheon won image
    5,000 won (ocheon won)
  • old cheon won image
    1,000 won (cheon won)
New Bills
  • new man won image
    10,000 won (man won)
  • new ocheon won image
    5,000 won (ocheon won)
  • new cheon won image
    1,000 won (cheon won)
  • oman won image
    50,000 won (oman won)
Coins
  • obaek won image
    500 won (obaek won)
  • baek won image
    100 won (baek won)
  • osip won image
    50 won (osip won)
  • sip won image
    10 won (sip won)

Tip & Tax

Service charges are included in your bill for rooms, meals, and other services at hotels and upscale restaurants. Koreans occasionally do tip when they are especially pleased with the service they receive. Foreign tourists can receive nearly 10 % VAT refunds for purchases at Duty Free shops. Goods must be taken out of Korea within three months of purchase to be eligible for a tax refund. Visitors can receive a refund on a receipt for a minimum purchase of KRW 50,000 (around USD 43). To receive this refund, present receipts with the purchased goods at the customs clearance desk at Incheon International Airport when departing.

Electricity

The standard electricity supply is 220 volts AC/60 cycles. Most hotels may provide outlet converters for 110 and 220 volts. Participants are recommended to check with the hotel beforehand.

Emergency Phone Numbers

  • 1339: Medical Emergency
  • 119: Emergencies for Fire, Rescue & Hospital Services
  • 112: Police
  • 129: First Aid Services

Useful Websites

Key dates

  • Call for Abstracts Open JAN. 18, 2016
  • Deadline for Abstract Submission JUN. 14, 2016
  • Notification of Abstract Acceptance JUN. 30, 2016
  • Deadline for Early Registration JUL. 29, 2016